Skip to main content

Professor Betty Duke, Thurgood Marshall Among Inductees Honored in Government Executive’s Government Hall of Fame

Back to All News
Chandrika Rallapalli, Robert Orr, Thurgood Marshall Jr. and Betty Duke
Chandrika Rallapalli, Robert Orr, Thurgood Marshall Jr. and Betty Duke at the naming celebration of Thurgood Marshall Hall at the University of Maryland School of Public Policy

Professor Betty Duke was among nine inductees chosen for this year’s Government Hall of Fame. Now in its fifth year, the Government Hall of Fame was created in 2019 by Government Executive to recognize a distinguished group of individuals who have made historic achievements in service to the federal government and the American people.

Duke served for ten years in the Office of Personnel Management and held senior roles in Health and Human Services. She spent twelve years in the Office of the Secretary before holding high-ranking positions at the Food and Drug Administration, the Health Resources and Services Administration and the Administration for Children and Families. Duke received the Presidential Rank Award of Distinguished Executives in 2006, the highest award available for career members of the Senior Executive Service. It celebrates exceptional performance and long-term achievements in federal service.

After a decades-long career in federal service, Duke joined the faculty in 2009, leveraging her real-world experience to help students in the development of policy, leadership, management and communication skills in the policy arena. Duke serves as the Norman and Florence Brody Family Foundation Public Policy Forum Professor. In this role, she convenes renowned leaders, public policy experts and thought leaders to the School of Public Policy to promote discussion and awareness of topics of national and international significance. Leading and managing complex organizations is central to Duke’s work, which focuses on network collaborations across public, private and nonprofit sectors. 

Among other notable figures to be recognized in this year’s Government Hall of Fame class is trailblazing civil rights leader, attorney and Supreme Court justice, Thurgood Marshall. Marshall served on the Supreme Court from 1967 until 1991 and was instrumental in dismantling racial segregation in the United States. Last week, the School of Public Policy celebrated the official naming of its new building, Thurgood Marshall Hall, in honor of  Justice Marshall. 

Duke and the other inductees will be honored at the “Evening of Honors” gala in April.

For Media Inquiries:
Megan Campbell
Senior Director of Strategic Communications
For More from the School of Public Policy:
Sign up for SPP News